There is a difference between Removing a Member from a Level or Cancelling a Level for a Member or Expiring from a Level.
Removed from Level
This removes the Member from the Level. So, there would be no record they were ever in that Level once they are removed. They are completely removed from that Level.
A Member would need to re-register or be added back to the Level in order to regain access.
Cancelled from Level
This cancels the member's access to the Level. The Level is cancelled for that member. But, they remain in the Level. They are cancelled from the Level and cannot access any of the protected content in that Level.
A Member would need to be Uncancelled from the Level in order to regain access.
Expired From Level
A member's access to the Level will expire based on the time set (IF the Level is set to expire using the Fixed Term or Specific Date Expiration Options). The member remains in the Level but they are expired from the Level and cannot access any of the protected content in that Level.
A Member would need to be re-register for the Level and the Registration Date Reset option would need to be enabled in order to regain access.
Note: Once the Level expires, the Member cannot rejoin that Level unless the Registration Date Reset setting is enabled for that Level.
More details on Registration Date Reset for expired Levels.